One Life Stand – Chapter 10

Early in the morning, Ella prepared them both breakfast and sat down to eat.

“Oh, wow.” Leon looked at the pile of French toast with fruit and cream waiting for him. “I usually only grab a coffee before work, but this looks too amazing to pass up. Thank you.” He kissed her temple and sat down to eat. “Mmm… This is good. Aren’t you going to eat, too?”

“Of course.” She dug in and couldn’t help but look at Leon as he enjoyed the food. I guess food is the way to Leon’s heart, as Zeke suggested.

He polished his food off quickly and set his plate in the sink. “There isn’t much to do up here right now, so feel free to either stay here or go help Jenny with anything she needs. I won’t be here for lunch today, so I’ll see you tonight.” He grabbed his jacket and headed for the front door.

“Okay, have a good day at work.”

He paused and quickly made his way back over to her. He kissed the top of her head. “You have a good day, too.” He smiled and headed off.

Ella touched the top of her head and her temple, the remnant of his kisses still lingering. He’s so natural at this…

She cleaned up what little needed to be cleaned and headed downstairs to meet up with Jenny. She made it in time for the morning meeting – which was no longer mandatory for her to attend – and stood beside Alice.

As soon as they noticed her, the whispers started.

“Isn’t she the one working personally for the boss?”

“What’s she doing here?”

“Did she get the boot already?”

“I heard she got cozy with him, so she’d get the easy job.”

“You mean she slept her way to the easy life?” one of them snickered.

I can’t fully deny that, can I?

“Quiet.” Jenny slammed her hand on the table and they all went silent. “What are you? A bunch of high schoolers with nothing better to do but gossip? If you can’t be professional, then I will find someone who can be. Now, let’s get this real meeting started.”


Ella stayed back after the meeting was over to speak to Jenny. “Thank you for that.” She bowed her head slightly.

“You don’t have to thank me for it; it’s my job to keep everyone in line,” Jenny said. “Besides, I can’t stand it when people act like that. I was hoping when I came here that we wouldn’t have to deal with this kind of crap, but I guess it’s everywhere.”

“Too true.”

“Anyway.” Jenny patted her shoulder. “I won’t fault you for sticking with Alice; it’s good to have friends close when most others around seem like enemies.”

“Not quite enemies, but still, I get your point. Thanks again.” Ella headed out of the room to find Alice waiting for her.

“I can’t believe them. Ugh…” Alice rolled her eyes. “At least we have a cool boss.”

“Agreed.”


After a long, hard day of helping out with customers around the hotel, Ella headed home with tired, achy feet.

Seems like we have a bit of a way to go before everyone and everything works together in tandem like it should. She stood outside the door to the penthouse suite, staring at it. I wonder if he’s home yet…

The door suddenly opened. “Ella, are you okay? You’ve been standing out here for a while.” Leon looked at her, worried.

“How… did you know I was out here?”

“I thought I heard someone coming, and then you didn’t come in, nor did anyone knock, so I came to check. Why are you standing out here like this?”

“Just… thinking.”

He sighed. “Look, I know you’re still getting used to this; I am too, but I truly think we can be good for each other.”

“I’m not sure I have much to offer you.”

“I’m sure you do; you just don’t see it yet. Now, are you coming in?” He stepped to the side.

Ella nodded and entered.

“Welcome home.” He kissed her on the cheek.

“T-thank you…” She blushed a little. Actually, it feels nice to be welcomed home like this. “I’m surprised you’re already here; I figured you’d be working late.”

“I would’ve been, but my last meeting for the day got rescheduled, so here I am.”

She looked over at the coffee table in the living room and saw papers scattered about around his laptop. “Looks like you’re still working to me.”

“Sorry; despite what my parents think, I work all the time, even at home after hours. I’ll clean this up…”

“Trying to steal my job again?” She chuckled. Despite what his parents think?

“Pretty sure you just got off work.”

“And technically, I’m your personal concierge, and I am in control of your suite.”

“Our suite.”

“Our…” Ella swallowed. Right, I live here, too.

“And since it’s ours, when no one’s on the clock, anyone can do the chores here. We can even call someone in if you really want, but I’d prefer not to.”

“Why does it sound like you want to do chores?”

“It’s not that I want to, but I think it’s fair.” He took hold of her hand. “That we share responsibilities.” He kissed the back of her hand. “Don’t you agree?”

“I… guess…” If we really do end up together, he’ll definitely have the bigger pay cheque, so I figured I’d do most of it… but he wants to share it? “Thanks.”

“No thanks needed.” He smiled at her.

“How about I make dinner?”

“You need to quit worrying so much.” He winked at her. “You just got home, so relax a little, and I’ll make dinner.”

“But… How about we make it together?”

His face lit up at her suggestion. “Good, because I mostly only make mac and cheese from a box.”

“Not one for cooking?”

“It’s not one of my strengths… But based on what I’ve tried of your food, you’re a great cook, so you can help balance it out. Now, I am in your hands; just tell me what to do.”

Ella couldn’t help but smile. “Okay, let’s get this started.”

Working together, she started him with something easier, peeling potatoes.

“These potatoes have so many eyes…” he mumbled.

“It happens; I’ve seen them grow more than a foot tall and leave the potato all wrinkly.”

“A foot-long eye? That must look a bit…”

“Creepy, yes, but it happens.” She made quick work of chopping up vegetables as he focused on the potatoes.

“Okay, the potatoes are done… Wow, am I slow at this or what?” He looked at the pile of vegetables in the pot already.

“I’m used to this, so, of course, I’ll be faster than you. Now, wash those up and dice’em.”

“Right, boss.” He followed her instructions, but when he went to cut it up, her eyes widen.

“Hold up.” She stopped him. “If you cut it like that, you might cut your fingers. Do it like this.” She showed him how to hold it. He tried on his own, but she wasn’t satisfied. She took his hand and curled his fingers a specific way before placing them on the potato to hold it. “This way, please; I don’t want you hurting yourself.” She went to back away and finally noticed how close she was to him. He brought his other arm up to pick up the knife again while she was still there. “Um…” She glanced up at him and found herself staring at his lips.

“Like this, right?”

“Hmm?”

“For cutting it.”

“What? Oh!” She turned back around, her face red. “Yup…”

He noticed the red crawling up her ears and smirked as he leaned in closer. “Make sure you keep an eye on me; I wouldn’t want to mess anything up.”

“Um…” She would’ve run away, but with a knife in his hand, she was afraid of causing an accident. “I-I think I should get back to cooking if you’ll let me go.” She pointed at the other pots.

“What if I don’t want to let you go?” he whispered into her ear.

She shuttered and bit her lip.”Then nothing will get done.”

“A shame, but I suppose you’re right.” He set the knife down and pulled his arms away.

“Thank you…” She inched away from him.

He sighed. “It was nice to hold you in my arms again.” He diced up the potatoes.

“It’s probably not because it was me, but just because a woman was in your arms…” she mumbled as she put a pot on the stove. Chances are, he’ll eventually fall into the arms of another.

“What was that?” He frowned.

“Nothing…”

“Ella.” He grabbed her arm and turned her to face him. “What did you say?”

“Nothing that matters.”

“If it’s really nothing, then it won’t matter if you repeat it.”

She swallowed hard and tightened her lips into a thin line.

“Do I have to pry your lips open?” He trailed his thumb across her bottom lip and leaned in close.

She quivered under his touch, and her lips parted slightly. He pressed on her lip and she bit him.

“Ouch, hey! You bit me!”

“Don’t put your hand near my mouth, then.”

He looked at the red mark on his thumb and burst out laughing. “You never react how I expect you to.”

He’s… laughing? Shouldn’t he be mad right now?

“You know what?” He licked his thumb. “Maybe it’s not so bad being bitten by you.”

“Did you just…” she trailed off, staring at him with wide eyes. He’s not the only one surprised by the other’s behaviour.

“Yes, I did, why? What’s wrong with that? Anyway, if you’re against answering enough to bite me, I think I’ll leave it be. But know this, you’re the only woman I want in my arms.” He turned his attention back to the potatoes.

Wait… Doesn’t that mean he heard me?

Ella stayed on edge the rest of the time they were cooking, flinching whenever he got near.

Eventually, Leon got fed up with it. “You’re the one that bit me; why are you acting like I’m going to do something to you?”

I’m not sure you won’t. Am I actually worried about that? He’s been well-behaved most of the time, hasn’t he? “Maybe I am worried you will…” She stirred the pot and turned it off, satisfied with the food.

“I’m not going to force myself on you or anything, but I do want to get closer to you. I don’t want a marriage where there’re no feelings or intimacy…”

“Ha… Maybe I’m just… still not over my ex. We were together for years, after all.”

 “Didn’t you break up with him?”

“Well… yes… It still hurts, though.”

He approached her again, trapping her against the counter. “If I remember correctly, you wanted to feel more from the relationship, right?”

She swallowed hard and wished there was somewhere she could run away to. “Right…”

“You want someone who cares for you, and who is stable, but at the same time, lights a fire in you.” He caressed her cheek. “You want passion and electrifying chemistry. So tell me, what did you feel that night?”

“I don’t remember that night.” Only little bits, anyway.

“Does that mean you need a repeat of our night together to give me a real chance?”

“W-what makes you so certain that would help?”

He leaned in close, staring into her eyes. “Because I remember the night quite well; it was too important for me not to remember.”

He looks… sad… Her heart wrenched.

“I remember your soft skin.” He trailed his hand down her arm and she quivered. “I remember your sensitive spots.” He lightly touched her spine through her clothes, and she twitched. “I remember the mole you have here.” He touched her right shoulder blade.

He can remember that from one night? How? Her heart raced more the longer he went.

“I remember the heat from your body… your moans… the way you called out my name… I remember how sad you were when we were in the bar, and I know you wanted to use me to ease your pain… and I’m okay with that, so long as you felt better.”

“You don’t normally marry your rebounds after a one-night stand.”

“Says who?” He shrugged. “There’s nothing wrong with ending up with the person you rebounded with. And for us, it’s not a one-night stand, it’s a one life stand.”

One life stand? Interesting way to put it.

“All that one night did is start the rest of our lives…” He let out a deep breath. “If you still don’t believe in our passionate night, might I at least have a kiss to prove myself?”  

“A-a kiss?” I can’t let him do that, can I?

“Yes… Considering what we’ve done, I don’t think that should make you so nervous. Besides, with your past, shouldn’t you be used to kissing by now? Or is it because it’s me you’re nervous? Are you worried we won’t have chemistry, or that we will?”

“I…” she trailed off, her brows furrowed. Which is it?

“If you’re nervous, you can close your eyes, and I’ll take the initiative.” He leaned in a hair’s breadth away. “I promise it’ll be good.”

Ha… A tingling sensation flew through her. “You can’t promise that…”

He smirked. “As the one who remembers that night, I can. In three… two…”

Her eyes widened for a moment and then she scrunched them closed.

“One…” He smirked before leaning in to kiss her. He wrapped an arm around her waist and pulled her in up against him, his other hand at the back of her head as he kissed her.

“Mmm…” Oh gosh… She could feel her body flushing with heat. He was… right? Her legs went weak, and he tightened his hold on her.

When he finally pulled back, her breathing was ragged. “Well?” He smiled knowingly.

“Um…” She averted her gaze and bit her lip.

“Even if you don’t say it out loud, I can tell from your body’s reaction to me.”

“That’s…”

“Should we try again so you can decide?”

“No… My body might react, but… what about my heart?” Other than it’s racing faster than ever right now…

“I only wanted to prove our chemistry; I’ll take my time winning your heart, as long as you’ll actually let me.”

“Actually?”

“You’re pretty resistant to the idea of being with me, but I can’t help but feel like that doesn’t have anything to do with me right now.” He released her and took a few steps back. “I think I’ve made my point…” He sighed, figuring he wasn’t going to make any more progress at the moment. “So, how about we eat dinner?”

I don’t have much of an appetite now… “Sure.”


Continued in chapter 11.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is kofi-button.png
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is banners.jpg

Leave a comment