One Life Stand – Chapter 23

Leon arrived at Charlie’s house and gazed up at the dark sky before knocking on the door.

Kyra opened the door. “Even avoided ringing the doorbell, so you wouldn’t wake anyone? Come in.” Kyra led him into the living room. “There’s your sleeping beauty.”

“Should we be getting Alice home?”

“She can stay there; she’ll be fine.”

“What about you? Do you need a ride?”

“Me? Oh, my, that’s sweet of you, but I can call my husband for a ride.”

“You have children, right?”

“Yes… who should be in bed right now.”

“Still, it’s best not to leave them home alone.”

“It’s a bit out of the way…”

“Don’t worry about it. I insist on you letting me drive you home.” He smiled at her, and her heart skipped a beat.

“Oh dear… you are quite charming. Did you know that?”

“I aim to be.” He was confident he could charm most people.

“Fine, you can drive me home.” Kyra found herself unable to stop smiling.

“She looks so cute when she’s asleep… Then again, she’s always cute,” Leon mumbled as he stared at Ella softly. Careful not to wake her – though she wasn’t actually asleep – Leon cradled her in his arms and headed to his car. Kyra held the door to the house open, to make sure she didn’t hit her head, and helped him lay her down in the backseat.

Kyra sighed as she sat in the front passenger seat. “It’s so cushy… and warm.” She giggled as she buckled up. She lightly slid her hand across the door. “Must be super-high-end or something.”

“I suppose so,” Leon chuckled. “Where to?”

Kyra gave him her address, and they drove off.

“So…” Leon glanced back at Ella in the backseat. “Is she feeling any better?”

“I’m not sure. We talked a lot and drank a lot, but she has her own issues to work through.”

“I’d like to help her with that if I can.”

“She told us about how you two actually met.”

“Oh?”

“I think it’s sweet, and now this makes more sense. You’re still being a bit pushy with wanting to marry her, but at least I understand it now.”

Leon gripped the stirring wheel tighter, a faint blush forming on his cheeks.

“I’m sorry if you didn’t want us to know about that—”

“I understand how close you all are, so I expected it,” Leon said. “It’s just embarrassing. My younger self was so weak.”

“Everyone is weak when they’re young, and everyone has times when they’re weak otherwise, so don’t worry about it.”

“Ella’s right about you; you’re the wise, mature one of the group.”

Kyra nodded. “I have to be that with them and at home.” She sighed. “Such is my life.”

“Must be tiring.”

“It can be, but I love it. They rely on me, and I like that feeling.”

“I have a feeling they always will.”

“I imagine so, but Ella will probably be relying on me less soon, with you in the picture.” She watched the light posts as they sped by them. “You’re going to have to have a lot of patience and tenancy to be with her.”

“I have that in abundance, trust me.” The fifteen-year gap since he saw her felt long as it was passing, but short when he looked back at it.

“I guess you’d have to have a lot of patience to hold back for so long in the first place. Or at least, I’m assuming it is, but some people have no issue going without…”

“Ha…” He swallowed hard, not really wanting to talk about it. “Sometimes it was, but I’m crazy enough about her to keep waiting and hoping we’d be reunited.”

“But wouldn’t you only be in love with the version of her from your memories? How about now? Now that you’ve come together again, and you’ve gotten to know her better, are you still crazy in love?”

“Yes.” Leon had a soft smile and gaze as he kept his eyes on the road. “And yes, I know how crazy this all is, but it’s a dream come true for me. I know she has her reservations about me, and I can’t blame her, but I’m not going anywhere, and I plan to be the best man I can be for her.”

“Damn… Ella’s a lucky girl.”

“Thank you.”

“Just stating facts.”

“No, I mean thank you for talking to me like this, and for being there for her. If you ever need anything, don’t be afraid to ask.”

“Might not want to be so open with favours like that; there are people who’ll take advantage of you.”

Leon pulled up in front of her house and leaned closer to her, staring into her eyes. “But you’re not one of them, are you?”

Kyra froze for a moment, entranced by him. “No… I suppose I’m not. Thanks for the ride. Get home safe.” She rushed out of his car, shaking her head and fanning herself as she tried to calm down.

Ugh, it’s hard to keep pretending to be asleep while they talk like this the whole way! Ella peeked at Kyra out the window and shut her eyes again as she adjusted her position slightly. And why was Kyra getting flustered?!

Leon looked back at her again. “Still asleep? I’ll try to make it a smooth ride home.” He drove off.

Ella couldn’t help but notice how he was still as sweet as he was as a kid. Some things don’t change.

On the way home, Ella actually passed out, and when she was starting to come to, she could feel strong arms carrying her. She leaned into him more, snuggling close as she breathed in his comforting, familiar, citrusy scent.

“Did I wake you? I’m sorry, but you’ll be safe in your own bed soon,” Leon said as he carried her through their penthouse suite after kicking his shoes off at the door. He pushed her door open with his foot and laid her down on her bed. He took her shoes off and kissed her forehead. “Sleep well, my Ella.”

Give him a chance, hmm?

Her hand shot out and grabbed his. “Stay…” she mumbled.

“Um… Do you know what you’re asking?”

She nodded, her eyes open a slit. “Just stay near… nothing more…”

I wonder if he can manage that; we’ve been a bit naughty any time we’re in bed together.

“If that’s what you want.”

Ella nodded again and let go of his hand.

Leon took his jacket off and laid down beside her, his hands behind his head as he stared at the ceiling. “I hope you’re feeling better now,” he whispered, not sure if she was awake enough to hear him anymore.

“Mmm…” She rolled onto her side and cuddled up to him, her hand resting on his chest and head on his shoulder.

Leon wrapped an arm around her, feeling comfortable. He stayed awake, though overly aware of her presence. “How am I supposed to sleep like this without doing anything?” He sighed and closed his eyes, wondering if she was trying to test him somehow.

Ella smiled a bit as she cuddled closer to him, leaving no space between them. I probably shouldn’t tease him too much after he’s been so sweet.

He looked down at her. “Are you awake?”

Don’t answer him! She had to remind herself as she kept her eyes shut.

Leon sighed. “I’ve been hoping to talk to you since that night, but you’ve been avoiding me. For reference, I like eating breakfast with you in the morning; it’s like we’re already married, and it’s nice to have someone to eat with at home. Oh well, we will talk later, but for now, let’s try to sleep.”


Continued in chapter 24.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is kofi-button.png
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is banners.jpg

Leave a comment